Reading period week 1

I promised that I’d post each week about the submissions I’d received for Rocket Science. I suppose I had been slightly afraid I’d be inundated with hundreds – well, maybe tens – of manuscripts as soon as the reading period opened. I’ve seen submission stats for some online genre magazines, and they receive huge numbers of submissions per month. In actual fact, I was sent less than I expected, though perhaps the number will pick up as the weeks progress – there are, after all, three months until the reading period closes.

For the record, I received nine stories and one non-fiction piece, which break down as follows:

Let’s hope this week brings more submissions by women writers and by writers from countries other than the UK and US.

2 Comments

Filed under submissions

2 responses to “Reading period week 1

  1. Martin McGrath

    If my experience with a couple of years of administering the James White Award is anything to go by, you’ll probably get a slow stream of submissions in the early weeks and then a huge rush near the deadline.

  2. I for one was hoping to get a story submitted for consideration and can see it coming in just before the deadline. So don’t be discouraged by the low numbers… Martin, bless his cotton socks, is probably right.

Leave a Reply

