Introducing the authors: Sam Kepfield

Source: Wikipedia

Sam Kepfield contributes the only alternate history story in Rocket Science, but it is perhaps not the alternate history you were expecting…

First of all, let me say that there are very few submission calls every year that I tell myself I HAVE to do, and HAVE to place a story in. This was one of them. Even though I’m a lawyer by trade, I love hard science fiction. How badly did I want in? Ian didn’t take my first submission, so I sent him another story I’d just finished. He accepted that, and I am thrilled to be part of this anthology. I hope that we see Rocket Science 2 soon.

The Space Race was a high adventure for a kid growing up in the 1960s and 1970s. I watched the launches, read about the missions, and was sad when it all ended – but never forgot the exhilaration of it all. Being a Cold War baby also imprinted a fascination with the Soviet Union and the arms race on me; I still get a little nostalgic every November 7 for the SS-20s parading through Red Square. I’ve been reading extensively on Soviet history, and on their space program in particular, of late. All of this combined to produce ‘Not Because They Are Easy’. My idea of a perfect story is one that is fun to write – where I’m smiling, laughing even, as the words flow effortlessly from my fingers. By that measure, this story almost wrote itself, once I had the basic plot down.

I have a few more Cold War-inspired stories. ‘Sparrow’s Flight’ from Musa Publishing is available through amazon.com, and there are several more in progress.

Leave a comment

Filed under contents

Leave a Reply

